high roads and feels

Hey you,

I wish you wouldn’t do that. I wish you wouldn’t allude to things but not actually tell me. You know I’m not going to ask. You know I’ll have an inkling and I’ll over think it. And then I might say something back that’s short or comes across as flippant, and you’ll think I’m put off by you and the way you live your life, when actually all I’m put off by is the uneasy feeling people get when they find out something they really didn’t want to.

But I won’t tell you I don’t want to hear it, because the last time I did that, you got shitty with me and we fell out. And I hate that more than anything because living as far apart as we do means I can’t just pop round and give you a hug. I can’t show you that things are okay. I can’t make you realise that nothing about you puts me off, if you won’t. So I won’t rise to it. Consider the high road taken.

I’ll listen because before anything else I’m your friend, and that’s what friends do. But please don’t expect me to be enthusiastic and act like I can compartmentalise the way you can. Because I’m not sure I can. And deep down, you know why.

Love always,

Me.

 

Leave a comment